Skip to content Skip to navigation

The Annual Community-Engaged Scholarship Lecture Award recognizes exceptional scholarly work that embodies UNM's commitment to community engagement and profoundly and systematically affects the relationship between the university and the larger community in a positive and meaningful way. This is the highest award for community-engaged scholarship bestowed by the University of New Mexico.

The nominee must be an active, full Professor or exceptional Associate Professor at the time of the nomination is submitted. The scholarship or the creative work of the nominee must be of the highest quality and should be tied to the faculty member's expertise

For Questions about this Award please contact:
Karl Benedict, PhD and Laura Banks
Chair, Research Policy Committee
Laura Banks, MD
Vice Chair, Research Policy Committee

7th Annual Community Engaged Research Lecturer


6th Honor:
Dr. Jennifer Nez Denetdale

5th Honor:
Dr. Andrea Polli

4th Honor:
Dr. David Gutzler

3rd Honor:
Dr. Sally Davis

2nd Honor:
Dr. Claudia Isaac

Inaugural Honor:
Dr. Nina Wallerstein

Past Annual Community Engaged Research Lecturers



Dr. Jennifer Nez Denetdale American Studies Dikos Ntsaaigii-19 Building the Perfect Human to Invade: A Dine Feminist Analysis of the Pandemic & the Navajo Nation.


Dr. Andrea Polli College of Fine Arts STEAM in New Mexico: The Arts in Service


Dr. David Gutzler Earth and Planetary Sciences The Science and Politics of Climate Change: Tales of a Turbulent System


Dr. Sally Davis Prevention Research Center Fundamentals of Translating Prevention Science Into Practice: Bridging the Gap through Innovative Community-Academic Partnerships


Dr. Claudia Isaac School of Architecture and Planning Community Based Planning: Co-Creating Knowledge and Action


Dr. Nina Wallerstein College of Population Health: Director, Center for Participatory Research Community based Participatory Research (CBPR): Wallking the Walk for Health and Social Equity

Quick Links